Skip to main content
National MagLab logo

The MagLab is funded by the National Science Foundation and the State of Florida.


Timothy A Cross

Contact Information



Timothy A Cross


Phone: (850) 644-0917

Address: 1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr., Tallahassee FL 32310-3706

Building: NHMFL FSU

Educational Background

Trinity College Hartford, CT B.S. 1976 Chemistry
University of Penn. Philadelphia, PA Ph.D. 1981 Chemistry
University of Penn. Philadelphia, PA Postdoc '81-'83 Chemistry
Universität Basel Basel, Switzerland Postdoc '83-'84 Biophys. Chem.

Research Interests

- Understanding how biological macromolecules, specifically membrane proteins, carry out their function
- Structural Biology and Structural Genomics
- Structural and Dynamic characterization of membrane proteins
- Development of solid state NMR methodology for macromolecular studies.
- Development of high field NMR technology and applications

Professional Experience

Department of Chemistry, Florida State University
Assistant & Associate Professor 1984-1993
Professor 1993-
Director of the FSU Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Facility 1984-
Department of Biological Science Courtesy Associate Professor 1997-
Institute of Molecular Biophysics, Florida State University 1984-
Director of the Institute & Structural Biology Program 1991-1993
Center for Materials Res. & Tech., Florida State University 1990-
National High Magnetic Field Lab., Florida State University 1990-
Acting Director NMR Program 1991-1994
Director for New Initiatives 1995-1997
Director of the NMR Program 1998-

Awards, Honors, and Service

2010 Florida Award, Florida Local Section of the American Chemical Society (2010)
Member, Editorial Board: Journal of Magnetic Resonance (2010)
Fellow of the Biophysical Society (2007)
Earl Frieden Professorship, FSU (2003)
Distinguished Research Professor, Florida State University (2001)
Biophysical Society Council Member (2000)
Editorial Board - Biophysical Journal (1998)
Editorial Board - J. Magnetic Resonance (1998)
Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1998)
Advisory Board - Magnetic Resonance in Chemistry (1997)
NIH BBCB Study Section (1995)
NIH Shared Instrumentation Panel (1993)
NIH Special Study Section (1993)
Florida State University Developing Scholar Award (1990)
NSF Biophysics Review Panel (1989)
NSF ILI Review Panel (1989)
Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow (1988)
NIH Molecular Cytology Study Section (ad hoc) (1988)
NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award (1985)
NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship (1983)
NIH Predoctoral Trainee in Cell and Molecular Biology (1978)
Honors in Chemistry and General Scholarship (1976)
Mary A. Terry Fellowship (1976)
Phi Beta Kappa (1975)


Last modified on 29 August 2022