Skip to main content
National MagLab logo

The MagLab is funded by the National Science Foundation and the State of Florida.

Steven W Van Sciver

Contact Information

Emeritus Professor

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

Steven W Van Sciver


Phone: (850) 644-0566

Address: 1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr., Tallahassee FL 32310-3706

Building: NHMFL FSU

Educational Background

Ph. D. Condensed Matter Physics, Univ. of Washington, 1976
M.S. Physics, Univ. of Washington, 1972
B.S. Engineering Physics, Lehigh University, 1970 (Summa Cum Laude)

Research Interests

• Heat and mass transfer in liquid helium and other cryogens
• High Reynolds number fluid dynamics
• Cryogenic two phase flow
• Flow visualization in cryogenics
• He II cooling of space based experiments
• Development of advanced fuels for space applications
• Cooling systems for superconducting magnets
• Properties of materials and fluids at low temperature
• Instrumentation for cryogenic systems

Professional Experience

The Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida
• Distinguished Research Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, FAMU-FSU College of Engineering (1991-present)
• Engineering staff - Magnet Science and Technology, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory-Florida State University (2003 - present)
• Director of Magnet Science and Technology, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory-Florida State University (1997-2003)
• Program Manager, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory-Florida State University (1991-1997)

University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin
• Assistant, Associate and Full Professor, Departments of Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics and Mechanical Engineering (1979-1991)
• Associate Director, Applied Superconductivity Center (1985-1991)
• Research Associate & Assistant Scientist, Applied Superconductivity Center (1976-9)

Other Institutions
• Visiting Researcher, Electrotechnical Laboratory, Ibaraki, Japan (1986)
• Visiting Scientist, CEA/Saclay France (1981)

Awards, Honors, and Service

Cryogenic Engineering Conference- Student Meritorious Paper Award (2015)
CEC Student Paper Award (2013)
Mendelssohn Award from International Cryogenic Engineering Society (2010)
Fellow, Cryogenics Society of America (2007)
Named FSU John H. Gorrie Professor of Mechanical Engineering (2006)
Taught short course on Cryogenics to Particle Accelerator School (2004)
International Advisory Committee to the Korean Center for Applied Superconductivity (2002)
Member of review committee for Fermi National Laboratory Magnet Development (2002)
Chair of MECO Interim Magnet Design Review, Brookhaven, NY, September, 10-11 (2001)
Elected Fellow of the ASME (2000)
Program committee for the 16th International Magnet Technology Conference, Point Verde, FL, September (1999)
Review committee for the DOE Superconductivity Program Review, Washington, DC, July (1999)
Review committee for the ATLAS project, in the area of internal cryogenics, Geneva, Switzerland, November 13-14 (1998)
Distinguished Research Professor (1997)
NSF Chautauqua Course. Lecture on Cryogenics, at the NHMFL, June (1996)
Book review of "Introduction to High Temperature Superconductivity" by Thomas Sheahan, Plenum Press for Nature (1995)
American Editor, Cryogenics Journal (1994)
Critical Configuration Review of TPX Project at Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, January 25-27 (1994)
Review Committee for the Texas National Research Laboratory Commission (1994)