Skip to main content
National MagLab logo

The MagLab is funded by the National Science Foundation and the State of Florida.


Stephen Hill

Contact Information

Professor/EMR Director

Condensed Matter Science, EMR

Stephen  Hill


Phone: (850) 644-1647

Address: 1800 E. Paul Dirac Drive, Tallahassee FL 32310-

Building: NHMFL FSU

Personal Homepage

Educational Background

Stephen Hill received his BA and D. Phil. degrees from the University of Oxford in 1991 and 1994, respectively.

Research Interests

Prof. Hill has nearly 20 years of experience performing microwave and far-infrared magneto-optical spectroscopy of materials in high magnetic fields, spanning the range from 0.3 to 200 cm 1 (9 GHz to 6 THz), using a wide array of compact, low-power sources and measurement techniques (cyclotron resonance, optical conductivity and electron paramagnetic resonance). Through this work, Hill has gained an international reputation in microwave-to-infrared spectroscopy of low-dimensional conducting, superconducting and magnetic systems in high magnetic fields, including significant technique development. Hill’s recent research has focused on fundamental studies of quantum phenomena in molecular magnets and correlated electron systems (quantum magnets and superconductors), as well as structure property relationships in a wide variety of molecule-based magnets, or molecular nanomagnets.

Professional Experience

From 1995 to 1997, he held a postdoctoral positions at Boston University and the FSU National High Magnetic Field Laboratory (NHMFL), then took up faculty positions at Montana State University (1997 – 2001) and the University of Florida before moving back to FSU in 2008.

Awards, Honors, and Service

Deputy Director, DOE Funded Center for Molecular Magnetic Quantum Materials at UF (2019)
Chair's line, APS Topical Group on Magnetism and its Applications (GMAG) (2016)
PAI Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research (2015)
American Physical Society Fellow (2014)
International EPR Society Silver Medal - Instrumentation (2014)
Vice President for the Americas of the International EPR Society (2014)
NSF CAREER award (2003)
Cottrell Scholars award - Research Corporation (2001)


Last modified on 29 August 2022