The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory is a large institution with hundreds of employees working across seven user facilities in three cities across two states.

The MagLab is jointly operated for the National Science Foundation by Florida State University, the University of Florida and Los Alamos National Laboratory (with sites at each of those locations) under a cooperative agreement that establishes the lab's goals and objectives. FSU, as the signatory of the agreement, is responsible for establishing and maintaining administrative and financial oversight of the lab, and ensuring that the operations are in line with the objectives outlined in the cooperative agreement.

  • Gregory Boebinger serves as Director and Principal Investigator. He oversees the condensed matter science user operations and facilities, user collaboration grants and visiting-science programs, the Magnet Science and Technology division, the activities of the Applied Superconductivity Center and the lab's public affairs group, and the associate director.
  • Eric Palm serves as Deputy Lab Director.
  • Laura Greene serves as Chief Scientist.

Five senior faculty members serve as co-principal investigators on the NSF grant:

  • Tim Cross (FSU), Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Program Director and Earl Frieden Professor of Chemistry
  • Joanna Long (UF), MagLab Chemistry & Biology Director and Associate Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
  • Chuck Mielke Director, Pulsed Field Facility
  • Alan Marshall (FSU), Chief Scientist for Ion Cyclotron Resonance (ICR) and Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
  • Neil Sullivan (UF), Professor of Physics

The lab's scientific direction is overseen by the Science Council, a multi-disciplinary group of distinguished faculty from all three sites that serves as a think tank to consider and help guide the lab's scientific mission.

Two external committees meet regularly to provide critical advice on important issues. Reflecting the broad range of scientists who conduct research at the lab, the Users Committee provides guidance on the development and use of facilities and services in support of the work of those scientists. The External Advisory Committee, made up of representatives from academia, government and industry, offers advice on matters critical to the successful management of the lab.

For more detail on how the lab is managed, download the lab's pdforganizational chart.

Last modified on 1 May 2017