Getting a PhD in science is an arduous feat; for some minority students, it can be especially challenging. The MagLab is working to give these students the tools and opportunities they need to see their journey through.

Over 5,500 people visited from throughout the entire Southeast to attend the MagLab's 20th Annual Open House on February 21st.

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The Diversity and Inclusion Committee is chaired by Ernesto Bosque.  The committee is charged with coordinating and implementing recommendations from the Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee.

  • Erick Arroyo, Technician, MS&T
  • Ryan Baumbach, Research Faculty I, NHMFL-Condensed Matter Science
  • Gregory Boebinger, Director of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory 
  • Ernesto Bosque, Research Faculty I, NHMFL- Applied Superconductivity Center (chair)
  • Alfie Brown, Industrial Safety & Health Eng, NHMFL Safety
  • Whitney Brown, Administrative Specialist, Management and Administration
  • Huan Chen, Research Faculty I, ICR
  • Malathy Elumalai, RF Engineer, NHMFL-UF
  • David Graf, Research Faculty II, NHMFL-DC Field
  • Elizabeth Green, Research Faculty I, MagLab Condensed Matter Science
  • Laura Greene, Chief Scientist, NHMFL
  • Jason Kitchen, NMR Engineer, NHMFL-NMR, CIMAR
  • You Lai, Postdoc Associate, LANL
  • Walter Lee, Budget Analyst, Management and Administration
  • Amy McKenna, Research Faculty III, NHMFL-Ion Cyclotron Resonance
  • Jennifer Neu, Graduate Research Assistant, FSU-NHMFL
  • Martha L. Chacon Patino, Research Faculty I, ICR
  • Kirk Post,NHMFL-Pulsed Field Facility, LANL
  • Bettina Roberson, Assistant Director, NHMFL-Director's Office
  • Kari Roberts, Program Coordinator, CIRL
  • Kristin Roberts, Director of Public Affairs, NHMFL-Director's Office
  • John Singleton, Staff Member and LANL Fellow, NHMFL-Pulsed Field Facility, LANL
  • Komalavalli Thirunavukkuarasu, Associate Professor, FAMU Physics
  • Anke Toth, Users Program Chief of Staff, NHMFL-Director's Office
  • Hans van Tol, Research Faculty III, Condensed Matter Physics/EMR
  • Kaya Wei, Research Faculty I, NHMFL-CMS
  • Yan Xin, Research Faculty III, NHMFL-MS&T

Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee

The Diversity Advisory Committee is chaired by Greg Boebinger, MagLab Director. This committee advises laboratory leadership on opportunities to promote diversity in hiring and outreach programs.

  • CHAIR: Ernesto Bosque, Diversity Chair of the MagLab
  • C.J. Bacino, Los Alamos National Laboratory Diversity Director
  • Susan Blessing, Physics Professor, FSU, Women in Math, Science, and Engineering Living and Learning (WIMSE) Director, Member of American Physical Society Committee on the Status of Women
  • Alberto Camargo, Argonne National Laboratory Diversity Program Manager
  • Charmane Caldwell, Director of Student Success for Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University-Florida State University College of Engineering 
  • Simon Capstick, professor, Department of Physics, FSU
  • Donna Dean, Executive Consultant, Association for Women in Science
  • Michelle Douglas, Director for Equal Opportunity and Compliance, FSU Human Resources 
  • Ted Hodapp, American Physical Society Director of Education and Diversity
  • Keisha John, Director of Diversity Programs, Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs, University of Virginia
  • Karen Molek, Chemistry Associate Professor, University of West Florida
  • Bob Parks, Director of University of Florida Training and Organizational Development
  • Adrienne Stephenson, FSU Graduate School
  • Ngozi Ugochukwu, professor and chairperson, Dept. of Chemistry, FAMU

For more information please contact Ernesto Bosque.

SciGirls Summer Camp is the result of a partnership between the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory and our local public television station, WFSU. This camp gives middle school girls the opportunity to work with STEM professionals on hands-on projects. Thirty six middle school students participated in this year's camp, which was held from July 14-25. The girls participated in a number of activities planned by MagLab scientists.

Roxanne Hughes, director of the MagLab’s Center for Integrating Research and Learning, is the newest member of the Tallahassee-Leon County Commission on the Status of Women and Girls (CSWG).

The MagLab is home to a cadre of world-class scientists and engineers who conduct high-level research recognized nationally and internationally.

This study compared the effects of two Magnet Lab STEM informal education programs on students’ STEM identities (particularly as it relates to interest in STEM and perceptions of STEM professionals/careers). The results indicate that both camps significantly improved girls’ STEM identities.

The 2013 SciGirls camp, held from July 8 to July 26, provided 35 girls with fun, hands-on activities and field trips designed to inspire girls to pursue careers in science.

SciGirls Summer Camps are one-week or two-week hands-on summer camps that inspires middle school girls to pursue careers in science by involving them in various fields of science with professionals who are working in STEM.

Page 2 of 3