20 November 2017

MagLab theorist named AAAS fellow

Efstratios Manousakis is recognized for his important contributions to computational physics.

Contact:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — National MagLab theorist and Florida State University physics professor Efstratios Manousakis has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He is recognized for his distinguished contributions to computational physics, particularly for his work developing novel computational methods for the quantum simulation of superfluids and electrons in solids.

Efstratios Manousakis.Efstratios Manousakis.

"It is a great honor for me to have been elected AAAS fellow," Manousakis said. "However, I feel that the credit for it belongs to those who nominated and supported me through all these years. I am just doing my job as best as I can, like most people."

Manousakis received his Ph.D. in theoretical physics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and completed his postdoctoral research at MIT’s Center for Theoretical Physics. He is currently the Donald Robson Professor of Physics and holds the title of Distinguished Research Professor.

Manousakis was named fellow of the American Physical Society in 2002, fellow of the Institute of Physics in 2008, and received the PAI Award for Excellence in Teaching and Research from the FSU Department of Physics in 1998. Manousakis's research group develops and applies computational and theoretical methods to study novel collective behavior in superconductors and strongly correlated electrons, superfluids, electrons in solids, quantum phase transitions in atomically-thin films and new states of matter created or probed by magnetic fields..

"Stratos is a valuable member of the theory group here at the MagLab," said National MagLab Director Greg Boebinger. "In addition to his powerful calculational tools, Stratos collaborates frequently with MagLab experimentalists and users on interpreting their data."

Election as a AAAS fellow is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers for recognition of work to advance science or its applications. Manousakis is joined by five other Florida State University faculty members who will all be inducted at a ceremony on Feb. 17 during the 2018 AAAS annual meeting in Austin, Texas.

Story by Kristin Roberts

The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory is the world’s largest and highest-powered magnet facility. Located at Florida State University, the University of Florida and Los Alamos National Laboratory, the interdisciplinary National MagLab hosts scientists from around the world to perform basic research in high magnetic fields, advancing our understanding of materials, energy and life. The lab is funded by the National Science Foundation (DMR-1157490) and the state of Florida. For more information, visit us online at nationalmaglab.org or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest at NationalMagLab.