7 December 2016

MagLab chemist honored for research

MagLab Chemist Yan-Yan Hu. MagLab Chemist Yan-Yan Hu.

A MagLab chemist has won a prestigious award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science that recognizes promising female scientists in the early stages of their career.

CONTACT: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

TALLAHASSEE — MagLab Chemist Yan-Yan Hu will receive the 2017 Marion Milligan Mason Award along with $50,000 to help fund her research endeavors. The other four awardees are from Duke University, University of Texas at Austin, Johns Hopkins University and Stanford University.

"It was such a surprise and honor," said Hu, an assistant professor of chemistry at Florida State University (FSU). "And I think it's a tribute to all my colleagues at Florida State University and the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory who have welcomed, guided and supported my research group and me. I'm at the best place with the best resources and best people for what we do."

Hu was hired by FSU in 2014 as part of a cluster of faculty dedicated to studying energy and materials. She focuses on fundamental chemistry that is critical to energy conversion and storage technologies.

She plans to use the award to help fund some of her graduate students as they pursue research on interface chemistry of organic-inorganic composite materials for energy and health.

In addition to outlining the research proposal, Hu received nomination letters from FSU Associate Vice President of Research Ross Ellington, Department of Chemistry Chair Tim Logan, Professor of Chemistry Alan Marshall and University of Cambridge Professor Clare Grey.

In his nomination letter, Ellington wrote Hu's work ethic was "beyond reproach" and said she was the "poster child" for the university's energy and materials initiative due to her close collaboration with other experts in the Department of Chemistry and at the MagLab.

Logan added that Hu was an "outstanding young scientist."

"She is an exemplary role model for women in science and actively mentors female undergraduate and graduate students through FSU’s Women in Math, Science and Engineering program," Logan said. "We are extremely pleased to have someone of her caliber on our faculty."

Hu will accept her award at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., this month.

By Kathleen Haughney / Florida State University News

The National High Magnetic Field Laboratory is the world’s largest and highest-powered magnet facility. Located at Florida State University, the University of Florida and Los Alamos National Laboratory, the interdisciplinary National MagLab hosts scientists from around the world to perform basic research in high magnetic fields, advancing our understanding of materials, energy and life. The lab is funded by the National Science Foundation (DMR-1157490) and the state of Florida. For more information, visit us online at nationalmaglab.org or follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest at NationalMagLab.