2017 Users Committee Meeting


The 2017 Annual Users Committee (UC) meeting will be held on the evening of October 19 and continue October 20-21st at the University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida.

The MagLab's Users Committee represents the lab's broad, multidisciplinary user community and advises the lab's leadership on all issues affecting users of our facilities.

User Committee Meeting Agenda

As of 10/17/2017

Download pdfUser Committee Meeting Agenda


Wednesday, October 18, 2017

5:30 p.m. Registration Holiday Inn - 2nd Floor Mezzanine
6:30 p.m. DINNER Holiday Inn - Champions Room

Thursday, October 19, 2017

8:00 a.m. Registration & Breakfast Emerson Hall -Ballroom B
8:15 a.m. Workshop Emerson Hall - Ballroom B
12:30 p.m. LUNCH Emerson Hall - Ballroom B
1:15 p.m. Workshop Emerson Hall - Ballroom A and B
5:00 p.m.    
5:30 p.m. Registration for UC meeting participants not attending workshop Holiday Inn - 2nd Floor Mezzanine
6:00 p.m. DINNER and discussion (with workshop participants) Holiday Inn - President's & Florida Rooms
6:45 p.m. MagLab Overview, Renewal Proposal Overview, and Charge to the User Committee
Greg Boebinger
Holiday Inn - President's Rooms
7:45 p.m. Adjourn  

Friday, October 20, 2017

8:00 a.m. Registration & Breakfast Emerson Hall - Classroom
8:30 a.m. Welcome from Institutional Representatives
David Norton, Mary Hockaday, Gary Ostrander
Emerson Hall - Classroom
8:45 a.m. User Program - Prior year report (15 min. talk + 5 min. discussion)
Eric Palm
Emerson Hall - Classroom
9:05 a.m. Facility Directors: User facility updates (5 min. talk + 5 min. discussion each) Emerson Hall - Classroom
10:15 a.m. Coffee Break Emerson Hall - Classroom
10:30 a.m. Magnet Materials and Technology (20' talk +10' discussion)
David Larbalestier and Mark Bird
Emerson Hall - Classroom
11:00 a.m.

pdfFuture Science: Three Parallel breakout sessions:
- SCH (Classroom) Tim Cross, Joanna Long
- 60T DC & 135T Pulsed (Ballroom A) Mark Bird, Doan Nguyen, Chuck Mielke, Greg Boebinger
- ICR at 21T(Conference Room 208) Chris Hendrickson

Emerson Hall
12:00 p.m. LUNCH and group picture Emerson Hall - Ballroom B
1:00 p.m.

pdfFacilities in Focus: Five parallel breakout sessions:
- DC Field/ HBT (Ballroom B) Tim Murphy, Neil Sullivan
- PFF (Ballroom A) Chuck Mielke
- ICR (Conference Room 208) Chris Hendrickson
- NMR/AMRIS (Classroom) Tim Cross, Joanna Long
- EMR (Conference Room 207) Stephen Hill

Emerson Hall
3:30 p.m. Coffee Break Emerson Hall
3:45 p.m. Users Committee discussion/ report writing in plenary room (closed door)
Madalina Furis
Emerson Hall - Ballroom A
5:30 p.m. DINNER Emerson Hall - Ballroom B
7:00 p.m. Adjourn  

Saturday, October 21, 2017

7:30 a.m. Breakfast Holiday Inn - Champions Room
8:30 a.m. Informal reports from sbreakouts by Users Committee scribes Holiday Inn - Champions Room
9:30 a.m. Users Committee executive session: office election (closed door)
Madalina Furis
Holiday Inn - Champions Room
10:00 a.m. Coffee Break Holiday Inn - Champions Room
10:30 a.m. Outbrief with Institutional Representatives
LANL, FSU and UF Representatives
Holiday Inn - Champions Room
11:00 a.m. Users Committee executive session: Draft report
Madalina Furis
Holiday Inn - Champions Room
12:00 p.m. Working Lunch Holiday Inn - Champions Room
1:00 p.m. Adjourn  

Workshop Agenda

Download pdfWorkshop Agenda 

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

5:30 p.m. Registration Holiday Inn
6:30 p.m. DINNER Holiday Inn

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Workshop on Advanced Spectroscopies for High Magnetic Field Research

Main schedule

8:00 a.m. Registration and Breakfast Ballroom B
8:15 a.m. Welcome Boebinger, Sullivan, Long
8:30 a.m. Advanced Techniques for investigating Topological States of Matter Brad Ramshaw, Cornell University
9:15 a.m. Magneto-optics in the 25 T Split-Helix magnet Steven McGill, Florida State University
10:00 a.m. Discussion  
10:15 a.m. Coffee break  
10:45 a.m. Mechanisms of DNP Tom Wenckebach, Paul Scherrer Institute
11:30 a.m. Advances and Applications for In Vivo Hyperpolarized 13C MRI Peder Larson, University of California, San Francisco
12:15 p.m. Discussion  
12:30 p.m. Lunch Ballroom A
1:15-5:00 p.m. Breakout sessions (CMP and DNP – see below)

CMP Breakout

1:15 p.m. Brief overview Ballroom B
1:30 p.m. Post-graphene 2D materials Guillaume Gervais, McGill University
2:15 p.m. Discussion  
2:30 p.m. Coffee Break  
3:00 p.m. NMR methods for studying materials under extreme conditions Nick Curro, Nick Curro, University of California, Davis
3:45 p.m. Discussion  
4:00 p.m. Cooling samples to Ultra-low Temperatures Andrew Woods, High B/T Staff
4:45 p.m. Discussion  
5:00 p.m. Adjourn  

DNP Breakout

1:15 p.m. Brief overview of breakout and NHMFL program Ballroom A
1:20 p.m. Elucidating and Maximizing the Efficiency of Dynamic Nuclear Polarization Lloyd Lumata, University of Texas, Dallas
2:05 p.m. Hyperpolarization for the Solution State using d-DNP, Parahydrogen, & Brute-Force Jim Kempf, Bruker
2:50 p.m. Discussion & Coffee break  
3:35 p.m. Sensitizing Solid-State NMR for Characterization of Pure and Formulated Pharmaceuticals Aaron Rossini, Iowa State University & Ames Lab
4:20 p.m. DNP at the MagLab Fred Mentink, James Collins, and Thierry Dubroca, National MagLab
5:00 p.m. Adjourn