MS&T Staff

Key Contacts

Director: Mark Bird

Contact Mark Bird for strategic new initiatives.

Operations Manager: Sheryl Zavion

Contact Sheryl Zavion for questions regarding contracts, grants or personnel.

Components & Materials Testing: Bob Walsh

Contact Bob Walsh to use MS&T’s facilities to test magnet components or materials.

HTS Magnet Development: H.W. Weijers

Contact Huub Weijers to discuss potential magnet projects involving high-temperature superconductors.

CICC Magnet Development: I. R. Dixon

Contact Iain Dixon to discuss potential magnet projects involving Cable-In-Conduit Conductors.

Resistive Magnet Development: Jack Toth

Contact Jack Toth to discuss potential resistive magnet projects.

All Personnel

Senior Personnel
Headshot

Mark D Bird

Research Faculty III

Magnet Science & Technology, Administration

bird@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-7789

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Roy Crooks

Visiting Scientist

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

rc@black-labs.org

Phone: (757) 269-0230

Fax: (757) 269-0232


Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Iain R Dixon

Research Faculty III

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

dixon@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-7653

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Andrey V Gavrilin

Research Faculty III

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

Gavrilin@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 645-4906

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Wei Guo

Professor

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

wguo@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-3980

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Ke Han

Research Faculty III

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

han@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-6746

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

David K Hilton

Research Faculty I

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

dkhilton@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-4360

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Peter N Kalu

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

kalu@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-5670

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Jun Lu

Research Faculty II

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

junlu@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1678

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

William Denis Markiewicz

Research Faculty III

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

markwcz@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0996

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

William Scott Marshall

Sr Research Associate

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

wsmarshall@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1623

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Thomas A Painter

Sr Research Associate

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

painter@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-5752

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Jack Toth

Research Faculty III

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

toth@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0854

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Steven W Van Sciver

Emeritus Professor

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

vnsciver@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0998

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Robert P Walsh

Sr Research Associate

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

walsh@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-5088

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Hubertus Wilhelmus Weijers

Research Faculty III

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

weijers@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-3102

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Yan Xin

Research Faculty II

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

xin@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1529

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Sheryl Zavion

Sr Research Associate (MS&T Operations Manager)

Magnet Science & Technology, Administration

zavion@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 645-7477

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Al Zeller

Visiting Scientist/Researcher

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

zeller@frib.msu.edu

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Postdoc
Headshot

Rongmei Niu

Postdoctoral Associate

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

rniu@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-8549

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Zahra Shafieizadeh

Graduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

z.shafieizadeh@gmail.com

Phone: (850) 644-1529

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Other Professional
Headshot

Todd Adkins

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

adkins@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-4731

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Scott T Bole

Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

bole@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2728

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Kurtis Ray Cantrell

Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

cantrell@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 645-5647

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Doris Geohagan

Accounting Specialist

Magnet Science & Technology, Administration

dgeohagan@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2267

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Robert E Goddard

Scientific Research Specialist

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

goddard@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-4304

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Scott R Gundlach

Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

gundlach@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2053

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Brent Jarvis

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

bjarvis@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2294

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Joseph Andrew Lucia

Welder/Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

jlucia@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2397

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Emsley L Marks

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

marks@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-3930

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Dustin Michael McRae

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

dmcrae@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 645-4617

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Amy M Mellow

Administrative Specialist

Magnet Science & Technology, Administration

mellow@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0566

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

George E Miller

Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

millerg@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2031

Fax: (850) 644-0991

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Patrick D Noyes

Associate in Research

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

noyes@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0929

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

James W O'Reilly

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

oreilly@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-5282

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Donald E Richardson

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

richards@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2230

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

William Read Sheppard

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

bsheppar@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1917

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Robert F Stanton

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

stanton@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-6990

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Yi-Feng Su

Research Specialist

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

ysu@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 645-2704

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Vince J Toplosky

Scientific Research Specialist

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

toplosky@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1475

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Youri L Viouchkov

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

youri@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0733

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Adam Voran

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

voran@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1381

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3710
Headshot

James Michael White

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

mwhite@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1153

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Graduate Student
Headshot

Charly Daher

Engineering Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

charlydaher@hotmail.com

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Nathaniel Garceau

Graduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

ng16r@my.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 914-2032

Fax: (850) 0000000

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Renee Erica Gordon

Graduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

rgordon@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0868

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Kikelomo Ijagbemi

Engineering Design Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

KIKELOMO1.IJAGBEMI@famu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1916

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Brian Mastracci

Graduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

mastracci@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1782

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Hamid Sanavandi

Graduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

hamidsanavandi@gmail.com

Phone: (850) 644-1782

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Valesha Scott

Graduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Scientific Staff

vscott@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1439

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Oleksii Vakaliuk

Visiting Scientist/Researcher

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

Oleksii.Vakaliuk@tu-ilmenau.de

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Undergraduate Student
Headshot

Qinjie Chen

Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

qc14@my.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-1782

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Dylan Kolb-Bond

Laboratory Assistant / Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

djk13b@my.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-7765

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Talya Levin

Undergraduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

tl12b@my.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-5670

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Orion Yeung

Engineering Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

oy14@my.fsu.edu

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Support Staff - Technical/Managerial
Headshot

Erick Arroyo

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

arroyo@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2397

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Matt Barattini

Summer Intern

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

mbarattini1@yahoo.com

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Justin Deterding

Research Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

deterding@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-2397

Fax: (850) 645-7598

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Hunter E Gamewell

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

gamewell@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 645-4617

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Jian Gao

Graduate Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

jgao@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 980-1780

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Randy Helms

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

helms@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-5282

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Kevin Jiang

Summer Intern

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

jiangkewen@gmail.com

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Jeremy Levitan

Technician/Engineer

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

levitan@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-4665

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Sun Kyu Park

Engineering Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

skp14d@my.fsu.edu

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Christopher C Ray

Technician

Magnet Science & Technology, Engineering

ray@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-4523

Fax: (850) 644-0867

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Dominick Sossong

Summer Intern

Magnet Science & Technology, Technical Support

dsossong@hawk.iit.edu

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Headshot

Carl Lee Windham

Research Assistant

Magnet Science & Technology, Administration

windham@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 644-0421

Fax: (850) 644-0991

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706
Support Staff - Secretarial/Clerical
Headshot

James Maddox

Technical/Research Designer

Magnet Science & Technology, Administration

maddox@magnet.fsu.edu

Phone: (850) 645-7560

Fax: (850) 645-7598

1800 E. Paul Dirac Dr.
Tallahassee , FL 32310-3706