Skip to main content
National MagLab logo

The MagLab is funded by the National Science Foundation and the State of Florida.

MagLab Educator Wins Tallahassee Scientific Society Gold Medal Award

Published June 21, 2022

Carlos R. Villa
Carlos R. Villa

MagLab K-12 educator Carlos R. Villa is awarded Gold Medal from Tallahassee Scientific Society. 

What is the finding?

Carlos R. Villa, who is usually surrounded by K-12 students, now joins a list of prestigious honorees recognized by the Tallahassee Scientific Society (TSS) for his contributions to science education. He is the first educator and first non-researcher to receive the TSS Gold Medal Award, which has also gone to founding MagLab Director Jack Crow (2004), Nobel Prize winning chemist and MagLab user Harry Kroto (2008), Ion Cyclotron Resonance Chief Scientist Alan Marshall (2011), and MagLab Chief Scientist Laura Greene (2019).

Why is this important?

The Gold Medal is awarded annually to a member of the Tallahassee scientific community to recognize outstanding career contributions to science, public service, and science education. These are measured by peer recognition and highlight an entire career of achievement. The award was created to recognize accomplishment in expanding knowledge and public appreciation of STEM in Tallahassee and its surrounding communities.

Who was involved?

C.R. Villa1

1Center for Integrating Research and Learning (CIRL) at the MagLab, 2Florida A&M University (FAMU)

Why did they need the MagLab?

In his role as the Director of K-12 Education Programs at the MagLab, Carlos helps support K-12 educational programming. In his 20 years at the MagLab, Carlos has directly educated over 120,000 students across hundreds of schools. This impressive tally includes field trips and classroom visits but does not include an additional 1,000 summer campers from the MagLab Summer Camps (TESLA & SciGirls) or an additional 300 students who have conducted research alongside MagLab scientists as a result of the MagLab’s Middle School Mentorship (MSM) program.


This research was funded by the following grants: G.S. Boebinger (NSF DMR-1157490, NSF DMR-1644779)

For more information, contact Carlos R. Villa.

Last modified on 29 December 2022