Neil Sullivan

High B/T Facility Director

Sullivan holds undergraduate degrees from Otago University in New Zealand and received his Ph.D. at Harvard University in 1972, working on NMR studies at low temperatures with Robert Pound. He and his students in Paris discovered the quadrupolar glass phase of solid hydrogen and have studied the dynamics of vacancies and impurities in quantum solids, both helium and hydrogen.

A Fellow of the American Physical Society, and member of the Société Française de Physique, he was awarded the Prix Saintour by the Collège de France in 1978, and the La Caze Physics Prize by the Académie des Sciences (Paris) in 1983. He was a founding co-principal investigator for the National MagLab and a member of the Board of Governors of the Joint Oceanographic Institutions in 1999. He chaired the Physics Department at the University of Florida (UF) from 1989 to 1999, and under his watch the new physics building was planned and completed. He also served as Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences from 2000 to 2006, during which time he oversaw the creation of the Graham Center for Public Service, the Center for European Studies, the Paris Research Center, the Center for the Humanities, and initiated programs for new degrees in biology, women’s studies and gender research, and nine new languages at UF. He also oversaw the development of a UF partnership with Spain for the assembly and operation of the 10-meter telescope on the Canary Islands. Sullivan is currently Professor of Physics at UF.

Sullivan has authored more than 280 referred publications in his field, and was one of the founders of UF’s Microkelvin Laboratory in 1986 (with Dwight Adams and Gary Ihas). He is currently the editor of the Journal of Low Temperature Physics.

See publications.

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Photo credit: Department of Physics, University of Florida

Last modified on 5 July 2018