Laura Greene

Chief Scientist

In addition to her role as chief scientist at the National MagLab, Greene is the Krafft Professor of Physics at Florida State University. Her research is on quantum materials, focusing on fundamental studies to determine the mechanisms of unconventional superconductivity by planar tunneling and point contact electron spectroscopies and developing methods for predictive design of new families of superconducting materials.

Greene plays an active leadership role in numerous science organizations. In 2017, as president of the American Physical Society (APS), her presidential theme was science diplomacy on national and international scales and its application to human rights. She currently co-chairs the Decadal Survey for Materials Research for the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) and serves on the Board of Directors for the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She is a vice president of the Executive Council of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, and chairs the organization’s Commission on the Structure and Dynamic of Condensed Matter Physics (C10) and its U.S. International Liaison Committee.

A champion for diversity and equal rights for women and minorities, Greene is a member of the U.S. Department of State-supported COACh team, which promotes the success and impact of women and all young scientists, particularly in developing countries.

Greene is a member of the NAS, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Institute of Physics (U.K.), and the APS. She has been a Guggenheim Fellow and garnered numerous awards, including the E.O. Lawrence Award for Materials Research from the U.S. Department of Energy, the APS Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, and the Bellcore Award of Excellence. She has co-authored over 200 publications and presented over 600 invited talks.

See publications.

pdfView CV

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Photo credit: Dave Barfield

Last modified on 21 September 2020