Skip to main content
National MagLab logo

The MagLab is funded by the National Science Foundation and the State of Florida.

Laura Greene

Laura Greene

Chief Scientist

In addition to her role as chief scientist at the National MagLab, Greene is the MarieKrafft Professor of Physics at Florida State University. Her research is on quantum materials, focusing on fundamental studies utilizing novel materials growth with planar tunneling and point contact electron spectroscopies to elucidate the mechanisms of unconventional superconductivity.

Greene plays an active leadership role in numerous science organizations. In 2017, as president of the American Physical Society (APS), her presidential theme was science diplomacy on national and international scales and its application to human rights. She is currently on the Board of Directors for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and is a vice president of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP).

Greene is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is a founding member of the Florida Academy of Science, Engineering and Medicine. She is also a fellow of the Institute of Physics (U.K.), and AAAS and APS. She has been a Guggenheim Fellow and was awarded the E.O. Lawrence Award for Materials Research from the U.S. Department of Energy, the APS Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, the Bellcore Award of Excellence, the Five Sigma Physicist Award for Advocacy in Science Policy from the APS and the Tallahassee Scientific Society Gold Metal.She has co-authored over 200 publications and presented over 600 invited talks.

See publications.

View CV

Email: Laura Greene

Photo credit: Dave Barfield

Last modified on 31 December 2022