Skip to main content
National MagLab logo

The MagLab is funded by the National Science Foundation and the State of Florida.

Gregory Boebinger

Gregory Boebinger

MagLab Director

Boebinger received bachelor’s degrees in physics, electrical engineering and philosophy in 1981 from Purdue University. With a Churchill Scholarship, he traveled to the University of Cambridge for one year of research under Professor Sir Richard Friend, studying one-dimensional organic superconductors. He received his Ph.D. in physics in 1986 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he held Compton and Hertz Foundation Fellowships. His thesis research utilized high magnetic fields and ultra-low temperatures to study the fractional quantum Hall effect with Nobel Laureates Horst Stormer and Dan Tsui.

Boebinger then spent a year as a NATO Postdoctoral Fellow in Paris at the École Normale Supérieure. In 1987, he joined Bell Laboratories, where he studied correlated electron systems, including high-temperature superconductors, using pulsed magnetic fields. In 1998, he moved to Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) to head the National MagLab’s Pulsed Field Facility.

In 2004, Boebinger moved to Florida State University (FSU) to become director of the MagLab, with responsibility for all three campuses: FSU, LANL and the University of Florida (UF). Boebinger is also a professor of physics at FSU and UF.

Greg Boebinger is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

See publications.

Email: Gregory Boebinger

Photo credit: Dave Barfield

Last modified on 31 December 2022