23 December 2009

Mag Lab researchers and users named Fellows of the American Physical Society

Contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — A National High Magnetic Field Laboratory physicist, as well as several Magnet Lab affiliates and users, have been named Fellows of the American Physical Society – a distinct honor bestowed on less than one half of one percent of the scientific society's membership each year.

Scott Hannahs, director of facilities and instrumentation for the DC Field Facility at The Florida State University in Tallahassee, was recognized "for contributions to instrumentation and measurements in high magnetic fields and for scientific contributions to many fields including quantum fluids, organic superconductors, heavy fermions, quantum Hall effect, and Heisenberg spin systems."

"Though we receive various acknowledgments of our work during our careers, it is a particular honor to have my work recognized by my colleagues and peers," said Hannahs. "To be recognized in the company of so many our users and collaborators is a gratifying recognition of the Tallahassee lab as a world-class scientific instrument."

With 46,000 members, the APS is the nation's largest and most prestigious professional society dedicated to the advancement of physics research and knowledge. Election to fellowship in the APS is a significant recognition by a scientist's peers of his or her contributions to physics.

Magnet Lab-affiliated scientists from the University of Florida branch named Fellows include:

  • Kevin Ingersent, "for contributions to the theory of strongly correlated electron systems."
  • Dmitry Maslov, "for contributions to the theory of quantum transport in one-dimensional systems."
  • Mark Meisel, "for contributions to magnetic and magneto-optical properties of low-dimensional and nanoscale materials."

New APS Fellows who are users of the Magnet Lab facilities include:

  • Raymond Ashoori, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "for the development of imaging techniques that reveal the physical properties of reduced-dimensional electronic systems."
  • Sergey Bud'ko, Iowa State University/Ames Laboratory, "for significant contributions to the study of superconducting, magnetic transport properties of metals, such as field-induced quantum criticality in heavy fermions and superconductivity in layered cuprate, rare earth nickel borocarbide, magnesium diboride, and iron arsenide-based compounds."
  • Gang Cao, University of Kentucky, "for experimental studies of electric and magnetic single-crystal transition-metal oxides."
  • Junichiro Kono, Rice University, "for contributions to optical processes in semiconductor nanostructures, including magneto-optical studies of Aharonov-Bohm physics in carbon nanotubes."
  • Jeremy Levy, University of Pittsburgh, "for contributions to the understanding of complex oxides, semiconductor spintronics, and their application to quantum information science."
  • Yung Woo Park, Seoul National University, "for contributions to the synthesis and transport in conducting polymers, carbon nanotubes, organic crystals, and highly-correlated materials."

Fellowship certificates will be awarded at the American Physical Society's 2010 March Meeting in Portland, Ore. For a full list of Fellows past and present, visit www.aps.org.